Assistive Technology

I’m going to start by saying that when the words “Assistive Technology” enter my brain, the first thing I think of is the use of text-to-speech or speech-to-text, or the use of electronic message boards. My initial answer to this week’s prompt was going to be that I use assistive technology very little in my classroom. Then after reading the articles and watching the video provided by this weeks presenters. My new response after reading and reflecting is that I use assistive technology quite frequently, a lot more this year then in the past.

This year, one assistive technology I used was the making of a “schedule” that I have posted by one of my student’s cubbies. This allows them to be able to reference what they need to do when they enter at the beginning of the day, at recesses and getting ready to leave the classroom at the end of the day. I use velcro dots to be able to replace them at each break, and taught the student when to swap them. They were able to take over swapping them each time and would be able to follow it independently. Another assistive technology that I use in my classroom is lined paper that has raised solid lines to help a couple of my students write their letters properly. I also use text-to-speech with many of the students, and I allow them to use read-alouds when we read our novel independently. Some students have a harder time with their reading, so I have them listen to a reading on YouTube while they follow along in their book. That way they can focus on the content from the book and they can also work on recognizing the words while they read. It also helps them learn how to follow in a book as that is a big struggle my students have.

Photo by jonas mohamadi on Pexels.com

I haven’t used the following technologies myself, but I have seen the following technologies in use. In my high school, they had an FIP class (Functionally Integrated Program) and some of the students used communication boards, both on paper/boards and on iPads. It allowed for the students to communicate with the other students and teachers who came into the room, even when they were unable to communicate verbally with them.

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Some of the challenges that I have encountered is the students actually wanting to use it. I have students who refuse to wear their glasses, or at least I have to remind them hourly every day day to put their glasses on. I think the biggest reason for this is because they are hearing adults say they don’t want to be different and they don’t want their kids to be different. The idea of not wanting to be different has taken over the idea of having something that will help succeed in school. It always goes back to “well when I was in school I did just fine. I made do.”

Well, times are changing and the misconception and bias towards assistive technology needs to as well. We need to embrace assistive technology.

Photo by Alizee Marchand on Pexels.com

Leave a comment